Will State Teachers Help Our Neediest Kids in Their Funding Formula Bill?

By Travis H. Brown

The future of Missouri lies with its 900,000+ children under the age of 21. If you are growing up within an unaccredited (or soon to be unaccredited) district, your family is faced with very few good choices. The scope of our Missouri constitution should apply statewide, regardless of zip code assignments to a zone school.

Perhaps the lowest, most fundamental threshold for the State Board of Education to determine is accreditation. This does not measure college readiness, job readiness, applied life skills, or anyone’s overall position toward their economic future.  Accreditation attempts to measure the minimal standards by which our state “maintains free public schools.”

The cultural tragedies that emerge from the accumulated failures to meet accreditation spread a slow but ever expanding wake.Trying to improve a statewide crisis-response plan for the education funding formula without providing immediate relief to those within these storms is akin to suggesting that victims of natural disaster do not require assistance from all corners of our state.

Missouri communities are better when ideology is laid aside in favor of practical, local solutions. Innovations can and do occur faster once all options for choice and competition are immediately available to serve the defense less. Research continues to demonstrate that improvements can be made with choice schools assisting those regions that require the most help, including improvements even for those kids who cannot or will not be able to choose a choice school.

Our needy communities are just like our legislative efforts: No one should have to go it alone in times of crisis. That is why we are proud to support the outreach to all parents and children, including those operating within independent choice schools, that have the means, ability, and interest to help. Please call your state legislator, and urge them to help all children with immediate choice options, such as passport scholarships found within HB1740.

Email your legislator today:

Name Email
Craig Redmon
Zachary Wyatt
Casey Guernsey
Mike Thomson
Glen Klippenstein
Lindell F. Shumake
Mike Lair
Tom Shively
Paul Quinn
Jay Houghton
Ed Schieffer
Doug Funderburk
Chuck Gatschenberger
Kathie Conway
Sally A. Faith
Mark A. Parkinson
Vicki Schneider
Anne Zerr
Kurt M. Bahr
Jeanie Riddle
John W. Cauthorn
Randy Asbury
Stephen Webber
Chris Kelly
Mary Wynne Still
Joe Aull
Pat Conway
Delus Johnson
Galen Wayne Higdon
Nick Marshall
Jay Swearingen
Ron Schieber
Jerry Nolte
Myron Neth
T.J. Berry
Bob Nance
Mike Talboy
Ryan Silvey
Jean Peters-Baker
John Joseph Rizzo
Shalonn Curls
Leonard Hughes
Gail Mccann Beatty
Jason Kander
Jason R. Holsman
Kevin Mcmanus
Jeff Grisamore
Gary Cross
Tom McDonald
Michael Ricardo Brown
Ira Anders
Noel Torpey
Brent T. Lasater
Jeanie Lauer
Sheila Solon
Mike Cierpiot
Penny Hubbard
Jeanette Mott Oxford
Jamilah Nasheed
Chris Carter
Donald Phillips
Tishaura O. Jones
Susan Carlson
Michele Kratky
Genise Monticello
Michael J. Colona
David Sater
Tommie Pierson
Sharon L. Pace
Clem Smith
Rory Ellinger
Stacey Newman
Steve Webb
Bert Atkins
Churie Spreng
Eileen Grant McGeoghegan
Margo G. McNeil
Mary Nichols
Sylvester Taylor
Rochelle Walton Gray
Jill Schupp
Jake Zimmerman
Don Gosen
Cloria Brown
Cole McNary
John J. Diehl
Andrew Koenig
Timothy W. Jones
John C. McCaherty
Jeanne Kirkton
Sue Allen
Dwight Scharnhorst
Rick Stream
Mike Leara
Scott Sifton
Gary Fuhr
Dave Hinson
Bart Korman
Marsha Haefner
Timothy G. Meadows
Paul Joseph Wieland
Ron Casey
Joseph A. Fallert
Paul Curtman
Steven Tilley
Linda Black
Jacob Hummel
Scott D. Dieckhaus
Ben Harris
Dave Schatz
Tom L. Loehner
Mike Bernskoetter
Jason Barnes
Rodney Schad
Wanda Brown
Caleb Jones
Stanley Cox
Sandy Crawford
Scott N. Largent
Denny L. Hoskins
Mike McGhee
Chris Molendorp
Rick Brattin
Barney Fisher
Mike Kelley
Tom Flanigan
Charlie Davis
William Bill” White”
Bill Reiboldt
Bill Lant
Don Ruzicka
Sue Entlicher
Thomas Long
Charles W. Denison
Eric W. Burlison
Melissa Leach
Sara N. Lampe
Shane Schoeller
Lincoln Hough
Kevin Elmer
Raymond Weter
Lyle Rowland
Tony Dugger
Lyndall Fraker
Darrell Pollock
Don Wells
David Day
Keith Frederick
Jason T. Smith
Ward Franz
Paul Fitzwater
Steve Cookson
Todd Richardson
Diane Franklin
Shelley White Keeney
Donna Lichtenegger
Wayne Wallingford
Billy Pat Wright
Ellen Brandom
Steve Hodges
Terry Swinger
Kent Hampton
Jim W. Lembke
Scott T. Rupp
Kevin Engler
Joseph Keaveny
Robin Wright-Jones
Mike Kehoe
Jane D. Cunningham
Will Kraus
Jolie L. Justus
Victor Callahan
Brad Lager
Timothy P. Green
Maria N. Chappelle-Nadal
Eric Schmitt
Dan W. Brown
Luann Ridgeway
Brian Munzlinger
Kurt Schaefer
Jay Wasson
Bill Stouffer
Ryan Glennon McKenna
Thomas D. Dempsey
John T Lamping
Robert N. Mayer
Brian D. Nieves
Jason Glennon Crowell
Mike Parson
Jack Goodman
Bob Dixon
David Pearce
Ronald F. Richard
Chuck Purgason
Robert Schaaf